Distractions Are Bad

Usually what I do is write my post on Friday then edit, augment, and post on Saturday so I have plenty of time to make sure it’s the best post it can be completely procrastinate Friday and then write my post quickly so I meet my self-imposed deadline. This week is really no different.

I saw a quote on Facebook that went something like, “Being a writer is 3% talent and 97% not getting distracted by the internet.” I can attest to the truth of that statement. There’s a whole world at my fingertips that MUST be explored! Those Wikipedia articles aren’t going to read themselves!

Even with the very real motivation of needing money in order to move out of my parents’ house I still spend a good amount of time doing nothing online. Well, doing nothing really important. Then, whenever I do decide to work on anything, suddenly everyone needs me! Okay that’s probably not true but it does feel that way sometimes.

*I took a break here to eat dinner and watch Captain America: The Winter Soldier*

I don’t even remember where I was going with this. Distractions. The internet. Trying to make it in the world. You know, adulthood is about being autonomous and able to make decisions. I thought that by 22 I would be over my Youtube binge watching and pointless meandering online yet here I am. I continuously try to find balance yet am thwarted every step of the way by none other than myself. I am my own worst enemy when it comes to distractions.

Imagine all I could accomplish if I stopped goofing off and started working on what needs to be done. Probably not going to happen but can you imagine?

That was a joke.

Wow, that was a garbage joke.

Please don’t read that.

Spare yourself.

I’ll get a hang of this adulting thing one day. Writing is work but it’s seriously what I want to do with my life. At this point I guess I just need to prove that to myself and do what needs doing.

This post is a bit shorter than normal and yes, part of that is because I put it off another part is because I’m extra tired this week. I’ve been busy getting nothing done and that’s hard on the brain.

One thought on “Distractions Are Bad

  1. …Dude. Hate to tell ya, but I’m about to be 28 and YouTube binging is love. YouTube binging is life. It hurts, but I do it for YouTube.

    Like

Leave a Reply

