I have tried many things over the course of my life. My mom made me take piano lessons when I was young. Then I tried the clarinet. Then I wanted to be a photographer. Then I tried my hand at magic/slight of hand. I really enjoyed watching Doctor Who until a few years ago. I’ve dabbled in baking, candy-making, book reviewing, knitting, criminology, psychology, etc. I was watching every one of Markiplier’s Youtube videos for a while. I tried to learn a language foreign to me.

All of these things take time. Now that I’m working two jobs I’m seeing what it really means to make time for what you want to do. I’ve only been at both jobs together for a few days but I can already see that 12 hour days are not going to end anytime soon. We all have a limited amount of time on earth and a lot of it is filled with work and other obligations. The time that isn’t filled for us becomes a balancing game between doing things that we want to do and things that we need to do. I want to work on learning Spanish but I need to do laundry, clean, and feed myself. I want to write my for-fun short stories but I need to go to my job and make money for my loans.

“You always make time for what you really want to do.” I’ve heard that for a lot of my life and I still fully believe it. Now, that comes with sacrifices. I’m sacrificing the time I could be writing my short stories so that I can pay off my loans. I want to pay off my loans more than I want to write my stories. I want to write this blog post more than I want to go downstairs and start making lunch. I need to eat so that I don’t die, but I’m not going to starve to death in the next hour. I need to show up at my jobs consistently or I’ll be fired. Life is a constant battle between wants and needs. Sometimes needs outweigh the wants, sometimes it’s the other way around. The saying isn’t meant to be applied to every aspect of life. It’s meant to remind you that your time is your own. What do you do with those moments you have no needs to fill? People like to say they don’t have time to read a book you recommended yet they talk about how they marathoned Orange is the New Black for six hours yesterday. The TV show was a want that outweighed the book.

Christians like to say that they had really busy weeks so they didn’t have time to read the Bible at all. Yet, more than once in that week they had time to sit on Facebook for three hours. Time slips away faster than we realize at times but in the end, you will always make the time for what you really want to do. I make time for this blog every week. Some weekends are crazy busy for me and I don’t write my post until Saturday morning. Some weeks it would be much easier to just not post because I don’t feel like I have anything to say. Yet, here I am. I do it because I want to do it. I don’t need to write this blog. Maybe you would be disappointed if I stopped but the world wouldn’t end.

What does all this have to do with giving up? Well, let’s do what I seem to very consistently do on this blog: circle back to the first thought.

I gave up on things as I grew up because I lost interest or I moved on or I didn’t have time. Sometimes I miss watching Markiplier on Youtube. I think about how maybe I should have pursued criminology. Maybe I could’ve been good at slight of hand if I’d really practiced. But I didn’t want to do those things enough to stick with them. I wanted to get a degree in Creative Writing so I didn’t pursue criminology. I wanted good grades and time for other things so I’ve basically given up watching most let’s players online.

I still have interest in many of the things I gave up on. I enjoy psychology discussions from time to time. I like taking pictures still and I try to better my photography little by little. But these are things I don’t do or plan to do for a lot of my time. I have to sacrifice wants so I can do what I need with my time. Sometimes I sacrifice needs to do wants.

For the life of me I can’t remember if I read about this or if I heard someone talk about it but at some point I learned that a good way to get yourself to manage time well is instead of saying “I didn’t have time for that,” say “It wasn’t a priority.” It’s just like needs/wants. If you really want to do something then it becomes a priority and you make sacrifices to get it done. You have time for everything you need to do and everything you want to do. It doesn’t always feel like that but I firmly believe that it’s true.

I’m still working on balancing my wants and needs and figuring out how to prioritize. I don’t expect to be perfect at it but hopefully I can get better than I am now.

Leave a Reply

