Snapshot of My Life #5

Oh hey look there goes Cornelia, being mean to herself because she thinks she hasn’t accomplished anything in the last year. What a failure of a human being. Now look, she’s begging for sympathy at the very start of the post. Typical.

My last official snapshot was in August of last year. Lots has happened since then but at the same time I really feel like I haven’t done anything. It’s hard to put together a snapshot post without feeling like a bit of a failure. Even when I know I’ve done some good things and have had a lot of really good days, I internally minimize it because they don’t seem important anymore.

I want to do more with my life. I mean, ideally I don’t WANT to live with my parents for the rest of time but practically, it makes sense. I can keep the job I love and be near some good friends I’ve made and work on writing/blogging at my own pace. But then again, I’m also just another statistic in the “failure to launch” category of young adults.

Well let’s see, am I any closer to doing something substantial with my life?

Yeah. A bit, anyway.

I bought a car for myself. I have payments on it (to my parents *shocker*) but it’s mine. I have a solid job that I enjoy, with coworkers I like. I have been working on my Wattpad account and have a couple followers there. Today I actually went through and finally linked all my social media to this blog so now everything will update across the board. I started a couple accounts on writer websites so I’m hoping to keep up a bit on those so I can reach out and maybe grow my blog. The friend of mine who is selling my paintings just told me that one of them actually sold. So that’s pretty fabulous. I think that’s $9 I made off that.

So there are a few things that I definitely have going for me.

I beat myself up about life updates. My life isn’t bad. I just feel like I should be a millionaire living in a mansion on a private island in the Bahamas with my 27 rescue cats by now. Is that really so unrealistic???

In all seriousness, I’m going to try to keep myself grounded. I have great parents keeping me afloat, good friends to hang out with, and overall not a bad life at all. Sometimes I wish I were more involved in organizations or the community but I really like having my free time to myself. I suppose, overall this life update doesn’t feel particularly updated. Not a whole lot has changed besides getting my car. That’s a big development but it’s just one thing as opposed to something that’s going to change my entire outlook on life.

Looking ahead, I’m hoping to sell another painting or two and then just keep up on my writing, try to reach out more to other writers, work on my Bible memorization. Live my life.

 

3 thoughts on “Snapshot of My Life #5

  1. This one is so relatable it hurts. People I haven’t talked to in a while are like so, what are you doing now? And I’m like… the same twelve things I’ve been doing for past year and a half. Yep. With a new car! Although I’ll have had mine a year in July now.. crazy! I don’t think that goal is unrealistic btw, just very very long term..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I went to the dentist this week and he asked what I was doing and when I told him I was still at the bookstore he said “That’s what you were doing last time I talked to you” like, thank you for subtley making me feel like my life is not interesting enough even tho you, yourself have been in the same job for 20+ years.

      Like

Leave a comment