Behind on Getting Ahead

I realized the other day that I am behind. Behind in life, in a way. I had this epiphany that the end of the year will be very busy for me. Retail work always ramps up but the assistant general manager at my location is going on maternity leave right at the start of the holiday season. So it’s going to be a bit more hectic than usual just at work, let alone any family things or anything else going on. With those thoughts at the forefront of my mind, I wanted to get ahead on blog posts.

I’ve talked before about how every year I try to write a few posts ahead of time for the holidays. There’s just less time in November and December and I don’t want to leave my readers hanging. So I sat down to write some and have a couple ready. But the day after I wrote them, I had another realization that my manager is probably leaving around mid-October which means that, in addition to my blog, I need to get all the social media posts for my church ready too. (I run my church’s facebook page, I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it before but that is a thing I do.) All I could think about for the last few days is figuring out how I am going to find the time to find quotes, verses, and phrases to design into 50+ posts that each have to be individually scheduled for the page for the last two months of the year while keeping up with the next few months’ posts too AND THEN also write 8-12 extra blog posts while still keeping up with weekly posts in between now and October.

It was a little overwhelming in my head.

But, I sat down today and started working on the facebook posts. I made some, tweaked some I’d already started, and found a few more quotes and I am happy to report I have (almost) all of December ready to go. I’m glad to have some weight off my shoulders but I also have some… mixed feelings. It took me almost five hours to finish that and I already had more posts premade than I expected. So it helps to have it done but it makes doing the next months feel that much more daunting.

The same feeling crossed my mind when I finished those couple blog posts for later. It felt good to have them finished but when I thought about how many still had to be done… it was disheartening. It felt almost like I had wasted my time because all the work was just a drop in the bucket. Why did I even bother doing anything?

Which led me here, to thinking about this post. I am so behind on everything and yet somehow, ahead as well. Maybe it’s more that I feel very behind and very late on getting these things done. I have been thinking about needing to do all of this for a while. It only hit me recently how MUCH it was and how quickly the end of the year is approaching now that we’re just over halfway through. But maybe I also need a reminder that the feeling is not necessarily true to life. I may feel behind but I am, in fact, not. I have the rest of July, and all of August and September to continue getting ahead. I want to maintain a certain level of urgency but also remind myself that as long as I’m getting something done, I’m getting something done. It may feel overwhelming and a little disheartening right now, but later I’ll be really glad I put in the effort to deliver better, well thought out posts, rather than rushed and panicked last minute content.

Leave a comment